Hinson-Tolchard & Lautee lead 2018 Port Phillip Amateur

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf news

2018 Port Phillip Open Amateur begins

Maddison Hinson-Tolchard from Western Australia and Andre Lautee from Kingston Heath have led the respective 2018 Port Phillip ladies' and men's draft titles, after the first round of the 72-hole championship was played today (Thursday, December 9) in Kingston Heath.

Click here for all championship results.

On a hot summer day in Melbourne with a gusty north-westerly wind that scored extremely hard, the 19-year-old Lautee made the best of his morning pace by firing a four-under-68, marked by six birdies. He leads the 129-player men's field with one shot of Lake Karrinyup's Joseph Owen, who fired a 69. Closing a successful day for Western Australian visitors, Cottelsoe & # 39; s Jack Patterson and Hayden Hopwell of Royal Fremantle course by another shot after respective two-under-the-seventies that was matched by Darcy Brereton late in the day Royal Melbourne.

The first round of the women's championship drove to the lay-out of the Kingston Heath in the afternoon. As the temperature rose, Hinson-Tolchard's first visit also yielded a four-under-return, including six birdies. & # 39; I've never been here before, & # 39; remarked the 16-year-old after the round, & # 39; and only once the driver. That was really the key and I am so happy with the round. "

The teen of the Gosnells Golf Club in Perth leads a group of three players on one – including New Zealand's Siyi Keh, Jen Goh from Singapore and Victorian State player Kono Matsumoto. Defending champion Stephanie Bunque and representatives of the Australian woman, Rebecca Kay and Grace Kim belonged to a larger contingent four strokes further behind two, 76.

The Men's Port Phillip Amateur started in 1976 and was played every year at Kingston Heath and Commonwealth in Melbourne's Sand Belt. The 72-hole championship offers former winners such as Mike Clayton (1977 & 1980), Brad Hughes (1987 & 1988), Craig Spence (1994), Stephen Allan (1995) and Scott Gardiner (1999). The Women & # 39; s Port Phillip Amateur started in 2012 with the victory of Metropolitan in Su-Hyun Oh in 2012 and 2013.

Following the valued support of the Commonwealth and Kingston Heath Golf Clubs, the qualifying rounds for the Victorian Amateur Championship for men were held in collaboration with the Port Phillip Amateur from 2008. This scheme was further consolidated with the qualifying rounds for the women's championship ladies' amazon, which were simultaneously being played with the Port Phillip from 2012 onwards.

The championship now attracts players from all over Australia with the 168 of this year from 88 different clubs, including 55 international and international clubs. The second round of the Port Phillip 2018 will take place tomorrow at Kingston Heath with the last 36 holes to be played in Commonwealth on Saturday 8 December.

The 32 biggest men and the 16 leading 16 players from the Port Phillip Amateur will go on to the round of the 2018 Men's and Women's Victorian Amateur Championships which will be played at the Huntingdale Golf Club next Monday (December 10).

The first round of the men's game starts at Huntingdon on Monday morning at 7.30 am with the first round of women's events at 12.00. Both titles end with respectively the men and women 36-holes final on Wednesday 12 December.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.