Wounded Koepka replaced by Fowler in US Presidential Cup team

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf reviews

Brooks Koepka won the US PGA championship in May, the fourth major victory in his career

World number one Brooks Koepka has withdrawn from the US Presidential Cup team due to an injury and will be replaced by Rickie Fowler.

Koepka, 29, again hit his left knee during the October CJ Cup in South Korea and will miss the event at Royal Melbourne from December 12-15.

The Presidential Cup sees an American side competing against an international team, with the exception of European players.

"I'm sorry I couldn't compete. I need more time to heal," Koepka said.

"I'm sorry I won't be able to represent the red, white, and blue, and I wish my teammates nothing but the best if they work to preserve the Presidential Cup.

"I have reported to Captain Tiger Woods that, despite constant medical care and rehabilitation, I cannot play golf at the moment. I consider it a great honor to be part of the 2019 team.

"Since my injury in Korea, I have been in constant contact with Tiger and assured him that I was doing everything I could to be 100% in time for the Presidential Cup in Australia."

Woods, who had previously said that watching Fowler for a wildcard was his "hardest call", added: "Brooks and I talked and he is disappointed that he will not be able to compete.

" I told him get well soon and we're sorry he won't be with us. He would clearly be an asset on the track and in the team room. "

Brooks Koepka and Rickie Fowler helped the United States beat the international team 19-11 to win the Presidential Cup when it was last held in 2017

Fowler, 30, finished second or second three times in Majors – the US Open 2014, the 2014 Open and the 2018 Masters – and is currently in 21st place in the world.

He said: "These team events have been some of the most memorable weeks of my career. To be chosen by Tiger to compete with him and the rest of the team is very special.

"It is impossible to replace & # 39; the world's number one, but I can assure my teammates and American golf fans that I am prepared and ready to do my part to take the Presidential Cup home. "

Presidential Cup Teams

International: Abraham Ancer (Mexico), Jason Day (Australia), Adam Hadwin (Canada), Im Sung-jae (South Korea), Marc Leishman ( Australia), Li Haotong (China), Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Joaquin Niemann (Chile) Louis Oosth uizen (South Africa), CT Pan (Chinese Taipei), Adam Scott (Australia), Cameron Smith (Australia),

United States: Tiger Woods (capt), Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed, Xander Schauffele, Webb Simpson, Justin Thomas and Gary Woodland.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.