McIlroy defeats world number one Koepka to win PGA Tour Player of the Year

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf reviews

McIlroy previously won the prize in 2012 and 2014

Rory McIlroy beat Brooks Koepka number one to win the PGA Tour Player of the Year award.

It is the third time in his career that the Northern Ireland golfer has won the prize.

The 30-year-old claimed the honor for Koepka, who won the PGA championship and finished second in two of the three other majors of the season.

McIlroy won the Tour Championship for the second time last month to secure the FedEx Cup title.

He had two other title wins during the season, with wins in The Players Championship and the Canadian Open.

"Rory & # 39; s season was a model of consistency interrupted by milestone victories and eventually the FedExCup in Atlanta," said PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan.

McIlroy opened the 2019 calendar year with top six finishes in his first five competitions before winning The Players to claim his 15th career PGA Tour victory.

The Holywood resident saw Tiger Woods and Henrik Stenson join in as the third player to play The Players, a major, the FedExCup and a World Golf Championships.

McIlroy's victory in Atlanta came after he was disappointed in The Open when he failed to win the battle of Royal Portrush with one shot after a disastrous opening round.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.