#AusAm: Bunque & # 039; s birdie blitz

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf news

Steph Bunque sealed a 1-up victory during the Tour of 32



Sometimes birds are just not enough.

Queenslander Sarah Wilson discovered that the hard way in the contemporary Australian Amateur Championship Round of 32 as a swag of birdies could not hold back the powerful Victorian Steph Bunque.

Bunque, a member of the nearby Victoria Golf Club, had the upper hand for much of the game until a remarkable kickback from Wilson forced the game to the very last putt.

"I was 3-up through nine holes and had something like that." Yes, I'm fine, this must be a good game, "Bunque said afterwards.

"Then suddenly, Sarah turned it on.

"After I had nine, she has 10 birds, then I have 11 birds and we both have 12 birds, she has made 13 birds – it was crazy.

Bunque was very happy with hitting her ball, and calculated a four-under-round round match format outside.

"I had not had the game in any other way."

But that was where the good news ended for the Victorians in the ladies' draw.

Linley Ewe, Jessica Pickwick and Jeneath Wong all bowed out of the #AusAm of 2019, while New South Wales emerged as the dominant state with four of a possible five who continued to the round of 16 in Woodlands.

As with the men, the air in the air with recently crowned Australian Master of the Amateurs champion Steph Kyriacou were dumped by Sanctuary Cove member Isabelle Taylor 4 & 3.

Becky Kay was not so fortunate and became the victim of No. 6 seed Miyu Goto in the final hole, with the Japanese contingent proudly waving their four of the six starters who achieved victory today.

Yuri Yoshida, one of the three medalists, defeated China's Alice Fan 5 & 3, while Tsubasa Kajitani also wiped the last hope of England, Emily Toy, 2 & 1

From her fellow medal winners, the Doey Choi of Sydney advanced, but the Sae Ogura from Japan was swept away 1-up in a tense game with Mollymook & # 39; s Kelsey Bennett.

Other winners were Queensland & # 39; s Cassie Porter and Hye Park, Jihye Park and Grace Kim from New South Wales, Riri Sadoyama from Japan, Darae Chung from New Zealand and Carmen Lim, and Min A Yoon and Hong Yaeeun from South Korea.


Competitions for women start Friday at 12:35.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.