Aussies wins prize for Hazeltine

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf news

Victorian Su Oh equaled her best performance during the LPGA Tour last week with a T2 finish at the Meijer LPGA Classic. Image: Getty.

Seven Australians will compete in the third major championship of the LPGA Tour season this week, the KPMG Women's PGA Championship in Minnesota at the legendary Hazeltine National Golf Club, with Perth's # 39; s Minjee Lee winning the most.

Lee, 23, has been looking at the world number one ranking since she won in Los Angeles for a month, but dropped from number 2 to number 3 in this week's ranking behind Jin Young Ko and Lexi Thompson.

A win would certainly rank Australia's top player and reigning Greg Norman medalist to the top she's been longing for since she was a little girl who found her way to Royal Fremantle Golf Club.

A wallet of $ US3.85 million is offered in the busiest time for female professionals; the Women & # 39; s British Open and the Evian Championship, also big-purse events and majors, are only a month away.

The seven Australians are Lee, veteran Karrie Webb (who has obligations this week outside the tournament), Katherine Kirk, Su Oh, Wendy Doolan, Sarah Kemp and Hannah Green. The players in shape are Lee, who finished just outside the top 15 last week, and 23-year-old Oh, who equaled her best performance on the LPGA Tour with a T2 bet, just a shot behind Canada's Brooke Henderson in Michigan.

Webb, now a part-time traveler on tour, won this title in 2001 when it was known as the LPGA Championship, one of its seven official majors. This week she will receive the two holders of the Karrie Webb Scholarship – Queensland's Becky Kay and Grace Kim from New South Wales – as part of that mentorship.

Kay is in her third year and Kim her second as a listed company. This week they can take a close look at the most important championship preparation and methodology of both Webb and other Australian players, an invaluable experience.

Kim, 18, a member of Avondale in Sydney, enjoyed a great season, twice won the KW series at Federal and Dunes on the way to third place overall and won a gold medal at the Olympic Games for Youth in Argentina. Kay, 19, also an Olympic Youth, plays from the Coolangatta Tweed Heads club on the Gold Coast.

Hazeltine, just outside of Minneapolis, has previously organized a series of major golf tournaments, including two US Women & # 39; s Opens and the 2016 Ryder Cup.

The Korean Sung Hyun Park is the defending champion and there are nine winners in the field – Laura Davies (1994, 1996), Shanshan Feng (2012), Brooke Henderson (2016), Danielle Kang (2017), Cristie Kerr (2010), Inbee Park (2013, 2014, 2015), Sung Hyun Park (2018), Anna Nordqvist (2009) and Karrie Webb (2001).

The KPMG PGA Championship was rebuilt five years ago and moved under the leadership of the PGA of America, with its first female president, Suzy Whaley, and it went well

"You know, I think we've all dreamed of that," Whaley said today. "I think we all wanted to show the best female athletes in the world in a way that they deserve on network television, at championship locations that usually only organized male championships.

"We wanted to give them an experience that was huge, but also … to demonstrate women's golf in a way that forced others to play the game. We wanted to invite others to play the game and do it by looking at role models, great worldly role models that are part of the LPGA Tour and we love that we are part of it.

"If I get that trophy on Sunday in honor of the 2019 champion, it is really an honor for all the women playing on this tour who represent the game of golf in such an incredible way."

Catch every round of the KPMG Women & # 39; s PGA Championship live and on request at Kayo. Sign up or subscribe to a free 14-day trial via this link:]


11:02 pm: Su Oh Sarah Kemp Haeji Kang

11:24 am: Katherine Kirk Sei Young Kim, Bronte Law

12:19 pm: Minjee Lee Lydia Ko, Michelle Wie

4:49 am: Karrie Webb Angela Stanford, Carlota Ciganda

4:16 am: Wendy Doolan Lee-Anne Pace, Daniela Darquea

5:00 am: Hannah Green Jennifer Song, Lindsey Weaver

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.