IMG partners with Aus Junior

Posted by on April 08, 2019  /   Posted in golf news

TRIPLE TREATMENT: Adam Thorp, Doey Choi and Steph Kyriacou with the booty after the IMG World Junior Championships 2018

Rewards for the winners of the Australian Junction Championship in Australia continue to grow, with the IMG Academy Junior World Championships working with Golf Australia to announce winners' exceptions.

The IMG Academy Junior World Championship has entered the Australian pinnacle junior tournament with special exemptions for the winners of the 2019 Australian Boys and Girls who decided this week in Queensland. In addition to gaining a place at the internationally acclaimed event in California, the respective boys and girls winners will get a place in the respective fields of the Australian Open

The IMG Academy Junior World Championship, founded in 1968, is the largest international event in the world with more than 1200 participants from 56 countries. The 2019 championship will be played from July 8 to 12 at different courts in California.

Announcing the championship, Andrew Parr, IMG Junior Golf Tour and Events Manager, said: "We are delighted to partner with Golf Australia to create this qualifying opportunity for the IMG Academy Junior World Championships.

"Australia has always had a high-quality representation in the field of the Junior World.

"Ultimately, this offers the opportunity for two more deserving champions to compete against a high-quality international field and for dozens of college coaches in July."

To make the offer sweeter, the winners are also invited to train for a week at the IMG Academy hotel in Florida for free.

Adam Thorp of Canberra tasted in San Diego last year and etched his name on the trophy alongside previous Australian champions Ryan Ruffels (2014), Matthew Giles (2006), Jason Day (2004) and Andrew Buckle (2000, 1999).

The New Wales duo Doey Choi and Stephanie Kyriacou have joined forces to win the 15-18 year girl event in 2018, with Choi also taking second place in the girl event

The Australian girls 'championship is played at Coolangatta & Tweed Heads Golf Club, while the boys' championship is played on the other side of the Gold Coast at Southport Golf Club from 10 – 12 April.

It is the first time that both Southport and Coolangatta & Tweed Heads are organizing national junior championships.

The junior championships are held in the highest regard with past champions including Stuart Appleby, Robert Allenby, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Cameron Smith, Jan Stephenson and Minjee Lee.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *