Kim, Micheluzzi top OOM winners

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf news

Grace Kim has risen from strength to strength in the last 12 months, capped by her recent gold medal for the Youth Olympics.

Stunning seasons are the common denominator for the winners of the Golf Australia Order or Merit 2018.

Grace Kim from Sydney took the ladies' OOM, while the David Micheluzzi from Melbourne won the men after achieving excellent results throughout the season

Kim won the women's standings thanks to the victories in the Tasmanian game Stroke and the Tasmanian Amateur Championships, as well as five extra top-five rankings in OOM events. Doey Choi, also from New South Wales, finished second, while Queenslander Becky Kay finished third for the second consecutive year.

Micheluzzi had an incredible year, won the Australian Master of the Amateurs in Royal Melbourne and the Victorian Amateur and took a second place in the Australian Amateur and more recently the WA Open, both in Perth.

Courtesy of his victory in the WA Open, fellow Victorian Zach Murray catapulted to second place, with Canberra's Josh Armstrong third.

Because open-age events contribute to the OOM of the girls, Kim took that honor too, with the Australian Amateur Champion Suzuka Yamaguchi from Japan, the second and Queensland Isabelle Taylor third, just by the Kirsten Rudgeley from Perth.

West Australian Connor McKinney won the boys' OOM after finishing as a medalist in the Australian Amateur and finishing two top five in the SA Junior Amateur and SA Junior Masters. The Australian boys & # 39; Amateur champion Connor Fewkes, of Kalgoorlie, finished second, while Queenslander Lewis Hoath finished third with three OOM events.

Kim Burke, from NSW, won the OOM for the second time in a row after claiming three OOM titles. Burke eliminated Helen Pascoe, from Victoria, while triple winner Jacqui Morgan, from NSW, became third thanks to the smallest margins.

Victoria & # 39; s Greg Rhodes won Mr. OOM for the fourth consecutive year after five victories in OOM events, including the senior amateur crowns of SA, Qld, WA and NT. The winner of 2014 Gordon Claney, also from Victoria, finished second after his recent victory in the Australian Men & # 39; s Senior Amateur, with SA & # 39; s John Davey as third.

The OOM attracted more than 3,500 players from Australia and the rest of the world, with the OOM still attracting much interest in golfers of all ages and sexes.

The GA Order of Merit encourages the participation of hearing-impaired golfers and enables them to follow their own development and form.

The Australian Amateur Championship, as well as other prominent national golf championships, uses the OOM as part of its entry criteria.

Each system is based on points and works over a rolling 12-month period. All national championships and the amateur championship of each state in the respective systems count towards the average of a player, in addition to several other major events.

The points of the players are determined by their end positions in each event and the events themselves are weighted according to the field strength.


Positions for women:

Grace Kim (NSW) 109.06

Doey Choi (NSW) 105.18

Rebecca Kay (Qld) 96.06

Men's rankings:

David Micheluzzi (Vic) 122.56

Zach Murray ((Vic) 108.53

Josh Armstrong (NSW) 107.29

Rankings of girls:

Grace Kim (NSW) 118.01

Suzuka Yamaguchi (JPN) 108.11

Isabelle Taylor (Qld) 105.33

Ranking of boys:

Connor McKinney (WA) 103.48

Connor Fewkes (WA) 101.56

Lewis Hoath (Qld) 86.41

Senior women rankings:

Kim Burke (NSW) 196.50

Helen Pascoe (Vic) 168.75

Jacqui Morgan (NSW) 168.00

Senior men's rankings:

Greg Rhodes (Vic) 128.90

Gordon Claney (Vic) 101.30

John Davey (SA) 94.64

Click here for more information.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.