Matsumoto & Micheluzzi – Halfway leaders at 2018 Port Phillip Amateur

Posted by on   /   Posted in golf news

Round 2 was completed today at Kingston Heath GC

Victorian State players Kono Matsumoto and David Micheluzzi led the respective 2018 Port Phillip ladies and menamata titles halfway through the second round of the 72-hole championship at Kingston Heath today (Friday, December 7).

Click here for all 2018 Port Phillip results.

Click here for all 2018 Port Phillip Round 3 Draw Details

Click here for the photo gallery of the tournament.

Note: the game starts at 8:00 am at Commonwealth Golf Club.

For a second consecutive day, a hot and almost windy northern wind made scoring extremely difficult. In the morning, the field of women found the Kingston Heath layout to be brutal. After winning second place in the American Senior Women & # 39; s Amateur of this year, Sue Wooster of The National used her experience to achieve the best women's score of the day with an even par 74.

However, it was Matsumoto who moved to a lead of three strokes after a second day 75 left the nineteen-year-old at par 148 for the opening of 36 holes. She leads New Zealand's Siyi Keh at 151 with another four players at four-over 152 including Wooster and & # 39; night leader Maddison Hinson-Tolchard who fought on a second round 82.

Meanwhile, defending Victorian Men & # 39; s Amateur Champion Micheluzzi in the men's event achieved a sublime five-under-67 for a two-round total of four-under-140. The 22-year-old leads through two strokes of Western Australia, Hayden Hopewell. The 17 year old from the Royal Fremantle Golf Club returned an equally par second round of 72 to finish at 142. Avondale & # 39; s Christopher Fan trails through a further line at 143 after a one-under 71. Overnight leader André Lautee from Kingston Heath wrestled in the afternoon wind, returning a 79 to finish at 147.

The Men's Port Phillip Amateur started in 1976 and was played every year at Kingston Heath and Commonwealth in Melbourne's Sand Belt. The 72-hole championship offers former winners such as Mike Clayton (1977 & 1980), Brad Hughes (1987 & 1988), Craig Spence (1994), Stephen Allan (1995) and Scott Gardiner (1999). The Women & # 39; s Port Phillip Amateur started in 2012 with the victory of Metropolitan in Su-Hyun Oh in 2012 and 2013.

Following the valued support of the Commonwealth and Kingston Heath Golf Clubs, the qualifying rounds for the Victorian Amateur Championship for men were held in collaboration with the Port Phillip Amateur from 2008. This scheme was further consolidated with the qualifying rounds for the women's championship ladies' amazon, which were simultaneously being played with the Port Phillip from 2012 onwards.

The last 36 holes will be played on Commonwealth tomorrow (Saturday 8 December) from a multi-tee (shotgun start) at 8 o'clock. 54 men on scores of 157 (+13) or better and 23 women on 162 (+14) or better made the cut with 36 holes to continue to the last day of the championship.

The 32 biggest men and the 16 leading 16 players of Port Phillip Amateur will continue to the round of the 2018 Men's and Women's Victorian Amateur Championships which will be played at the Huntingdale Golf Club next Monday (December 10).

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.